Twitter sets crackdown on automated ‘bot’ accounts
It will remain up for 14 days after the user deletes the offending Tweet. Anyone visiting the profile would know that the user posted a message that someone else successfully reported.Tweets will also look a bit different for people who reported a tweet. If they come across a tweet they’ve previously reported, in place of the offending tweet, users will see a warning that would say “You reported this tweet.”The company already has a restriction in place that requires users to delete a tweet that has violated Twitter’s terms of service before being able to tweet again. This new initiative just makes that action more visible to everyone.
Twitter to ban ‘dehumanising’ comments with user help
It’s a simple example of how public shaming can alter unwanted behaviour and the social media giant is wasting no time in putting the technique to good use.